

West Cheshire Time Trials Cycling Association Official Results of Open '10' Sunday 22nd May 2022

Race Report

A small entry of 41, with 35 taking to the start tackled the D10/23R course from Waters Upton to Hodnet and back to Waters Upton. Riders were helped along by a steady tail wind on the outward leg. The tail wind was generally offset by the gradual elevation gain to Hodnet where riders then faced a return leg into what is fair to say, a stronger than expected head wind. Ben Lloyd (Wrexham Fibrax RC) sped round the course in 20:24 for the win with a margin of 28 seconds over second placed rider David James Williams (Velotik Racing) 20:52. Niall Kenyon (Chester RC) rounded off the podium with a 21:58.

Fastest lady on the day was Emma Tilston (Chester RC) with a 28:59 giving her the win over Clare O'Donnell (Wrekinsport CC).

David James Williams (Velotik Racing) time also gained the win in the vets standard with a healthy +5:27 to beat John Dromey (Rhos on Sea CC) into second at + 4:00. The evergreen Alan Forrester (Graham Weigh Racing) won the race to round off the vets standard podium with + 3:52, with six other rides hot on his heels spread over six seconds.

Ben Lloyd success was capped with him leading home Wrexham Fibrax RC to also take top honours in the team competition accompanied by Alistair Brown – 22:16 and Richard Elmitt – 24:36 for a winning team time of 1:07:16 providing plenty of time to spare over the team of Graham Weigh Racing.

Over	all Fastest						
1 st	Ben Lloyd	Wrexham Fibrax RC	20:24	£25.00			
2 nd	David James Williams	Velotik Racing	20:52	£20.00**			
3 rd	Niall Kenyon	Chester RC	21:58	£15.00			
Fast	est Lady						
1 st	Emma Tilston	Chester RC	28:59	£25.00			
Vet c	Vet on Standard						
1 st	David James Williams	Velotik Racing	+ 5:27	**			

2 nd	John Dromey	Rhos on Sea CC	+ 4:00	£20.00
3 rd	Alan Forrester	Graham Weigh Racing	+ 3:52	£15.00
=4 th	Brian Woods	Pirate Juice CC	+ 3:50	£6.50***
=4 th	Alistair Brown	Wrexham Fibrax RC	+ 3:50	£6.50***

One rider one prize (except team) - **David James Williams was 2nd overall and 1st vet on standard therefore he only qualifies for one prize.

*** As a consequence, the 1st prize for vet on standard of £20 is awarded to 2^{nd} place resulting in the 3rd place prize being split between the = 4th place riders.

Fastest Club Team

1 st	Fibrax Wrexham RC Ben Lloyd Alistair Brown Richard Elmitt 	1:07:16 20:54 22:16 24:36	£12.00 £12.00 £12.00
2 nd	Graham Weigh Racing Alan Broadbent Barry Murphy Simon Hughes 	1:10:33 22:53 23:18 24:22	
3 rd	Pirate Juice CC Ben Love Brian Woods Philip McCormick 	1:15:14 22:33 22:56 29:45	
4 th	Chester Road Club Niall Kenyon Paul Modern Emma Tilston 	1:16:05 21:58 25:08 28:59	
5 th	North Shropshire Wheelers James Neale Les Boughey Geoff Edgerton 	1:17:33 23:25 26:56 27:12	

WCTTCA Championship Awards

Fastest WCTTCA rider	Ben Lloyd	Wxm Fibrax RC	20:24 Trophy + £20.00
Fastest WCTTCA lady	Emma Tilston	Chester RC	28:59 Medal + £20.00
Best WCTTCA Vet on Standard	Alan Forrester	GWRT	+3:52 Medal + £20.00
Fastest WCTTCA team	Wxm Fibrax	1:07:16	Trophy +
Not awarded as no qualifying ride	 Ben Lloyd Alistair Brown Richard Elmitt 	20:54 22:16 24:36	Medal + £12.00 Medal + £12.00 Medal + £12.00

OVERALL FINAL POSITION TABLE

POSITION	NAME		TEAM/CLUB	ACTUAL TIME	WCTTCA POSITION
1	Ben	Lloyd	Fibrax Wrexham RC	20:24	1
2	David James	Williams	Velotik Racing Team	20:52	
3	Niall	Kenyon	Chester RC	21:58	2
4	Alistair	Brown	Fibrax Wrexham RC	22:16	3
=5	Ben	Love	Pirate juice cc	22:33	4
=5	Philip	Knupfer	Manchester Bicycle Club	22:33	
7	Joe	Rendall	Nantwich Cycling Group	22:37	5
8	Alan	Broadbent	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	22:53	6
9	Brian	Woods	Pirate juice cc	22:56	7
10	James	Meldrum	Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)	23:03	8
11	Mike	Walker	Nantwich Cycling Group	23:16	9
12	Barry	Murphy	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	23:18	10
13	James	Neale	North Shropshire Wheelers	23:25	11
14	Andrew	Rose	Revolutions Racing	23:26	
15	Joe	Allen	Liverpool Century RC	23:54	
16	Simon	Hughes Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic		24:22	12
17	John	Dromey	Rhos-on-Sea CC	24:30	
18	Richard	Elmitt	Fibrax Wrexham RC		13
19	Rob	Kerr	Oswestry Paragon CC	24:38	
20	Paul	Modern	Chester RC	25:08	14
21	Paul	Edwards	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	25:19	15
22	Alan	Forrester	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	25:38	16
23	Martin	Sturge	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	26:05	17
24	Chris	Lawson	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	26:16	18
25	David	Norman	Birkenhead Victoria CC	26:41	19
26	Les	Boughey	North Shropshire Wheelers	26:56	20
27	Geoff	Edgerton	North Shropshire Wheelers	27:12	21
28	Peter	Mulloy	Mid Shropshire Wheelers	27:52	
29	Malcolm	Giles	Pocomotion Road Club		
30	Emma	Tilston Chester RC		28:59	22
31	Philip McCormick		Pirate juice cc	29:45	23
32	Robert	Elliott	Wrekinsport CC 3		
33	Geraint	Catherall	Anfield BC 31:08		24
34	Clare	O'Donnell	Wrekinsport CC	33:08	
35	Peter	Norman	Fibrax Wrexham RC	36:44	25

VETS ON STANDARD POSITION TABLE							
POSITION	NAME		TEAM/CLUB	ACTUAL TIME	CAT/AGE STANDARD	PLUS + Minus -	WCTTCA POSITION
1	David James	Williams	Velotik Racing Team	20:52	V43 - 26:19	+5:27	
2	John	Dromey	Rhos-on-Sea CC	24:30	V65 - 28:30	+4:00	
3	Alan	Forrester	Graham Weigh Racing-DO	25:38	V71 - 29:30	+3:52	1
=4	Alistair	Brown	Fibrax Wrexham RC	22:16	V40 - 26:06	+3:50	2
=4	Brian	Woods	Pirate juice cc	22:56	V49 - 26:46	+3:50	2
6	Alan	Broadbent	Graham Weigh Racing-DO	22:53	V48 - 26:41	+3:48	4
=7	Andrew	Rose	Revolutions Racing	23:26	V54 - 27:12	+3:46	=5
=7	Ben	Love	Pirate juice cc	22:33	V43 - 26:19	+3:46	=5
=7	Philip	Knupfer	Manchester Bicycle Club	22:33	V43 - 26:19	+3:46	
10	James	Meldrum	Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)	23:03	V42 - 26:14	+3:11	6
11	Mike	Walker	Nantwich Cycling Group	23:16	V43 - 26:19	+3:03	7
12	Barry	Murphy	Graham Weigh Racing-DO	23:18	V42 - 26:14	+2:56	8
13	Geoff	Edgerton	North Shropshire Wheelers	27:12	V74 - 30:07	+2:55	9
14	James	Neale	North Shropshire Wheelers	23:25	V42 - 26:14	+2:49	10
15	Richard	Elmitt	Fibrax Wrexham RC	24:36	V56 - 27:24	+2:48	11
16	Simon	Hughes	Graham Weigh Racing-DO	24:22	V53 - 27:07	+2:45	12
17	Rob	Kerr	Oswestry Paragon CC	24:38	V43 - 26:19	+1:41	
18	Paul	Modern	Chester RC	25:08	V48 - 26:41	+1:33	13
19	Paul	Edwards	Graham Weigh Racing-DO	25:19	V50 - 26:51	+1:32	14
20	Chris	Lawson	Graham Weigh Racing-DO	26:16	V57 - 27:30	+1:14	15
21	Martin	Sturge	Graham Weigh Racing-DO	26:05	V55 - 27:18	+1:13	16
22	David	Norman	Birkenhead Victoria CC	26:41	V58 - 27:37	+0:56	17
23	Emma	Tilston	Chester RC	28:59	WV55 - 29:54	+0:55	18
24	Les	Boughey	North Shropshire Wheelers	26:56	V59 - 27:44	+0:48	19
25	Peter	Mulloy	Mid Shropshire Wheelers	27:52	V 64 - 28:22	+0:30	
26	Philip	McCormick	Pirate juice cc	29:45	V74 - 30:07	+0:22	20
27	Malcolm	Giles	Pocomotion Road Club	28:49	V68 - 28:58	+0:09	
28	Robert	Elliott	Wrekinsport CC	30:17	V71 - 29:30	-0:47	
29	Clare	O'Donnell	Wrekinsport CC	33:08	WV53 - 29:41	-3:27	
30	Peter	Norman	Fibrax Wrexham RC	36:44	V84 - 33:00	-3:44	21
31	Geraint	Catherall	Anfield BC	31:08	V48 - 26:41	-4:27	22